Is Google+ Shutting Down?!

9:23 AM 0 Comments

This past October 8th, Google announced that they would be shutting down Google+ over the next 10 months in order to give people a full opportunity to get ready for the closing and export their information if needed. In other words,this August 2019, Google + will be gone as we know it today. Furthermore, the company will be providing consumers with additional information on how to download and migrate data.


Why tho? 

Ben Smith (President of Engineering at Google) writes on the company’s official blog that while their engineering teams have put a lot of effort and dedication into building Google+ over the years “it has not achieved broad consumer or developer adoption, and has seen limited user interaction with apps.”

In fact, 90% of the platform’s sessions last less than 5 seconds and have very low engagement. The decision follows reporting of a previously undisclosed security flaw that exposed users’ profile data and that was remedied in March 2018.


So... Is Google+ REALLY dead?

YES and NO… Google+ won’t be the same and will be gone for consumers. However, a new business version of Google’s social network will be available soon for professionals and it’s already getting a bunch of new features today.


Before you start thinking what we all did at first: No it won’t look like LinkedIn

While Linkedin is for any consumer that would like to post their professional trajectory, this new platform has a different purpose. Some of the features Google has highlighted seem to indicate perhaps the creation of something that might compete with Microsoft Teams or Slack. Therefore, large enterprises that work with G Suite business might be tempted to standardize on one product across the board.


Meet Google+ for G Suite

Google+ for G Suite isn’t all that different from the original Google+, but is is more focused on on allowing users inside a company to easily share information. Additionally, the new features added will provide admins more tools for managing and reviewing posts, allow employees to tag content and provide better engagement.


Bulk Actions for Admins

Recently Google introduced the ability for admins to bulk-add groups of users to a Google+ community and disable the features for others. Additionally, members of the domains and sub-domains can be organized in units according to the departments they belong to in the organization.

Soon, admins will also be able to define custom streams so that employees could get access to a stream with all of the posts from a company’s leadership unit.


Review and moderate Posts’ Privacy

Prevent posts and communities from being shared outside your organization’s domain by default by:
1. Opening your Google Admin console.
2. From the Admin console Home page, go to Apps> G Suite> Google+.
3. Click on Advanced Settings.
4. In the Sharing posts section, select “Make the default setting for new posts restricted”.


Create Tags for different Posts

Tags will make it easy for employees to route content to everybody in the company, no matter which group they work in. Soon you’ll be able to draft posts and see suggested tags.

The announcement of shutting the consumer platform down along with the one of new business features, is clearly meant to be a reminder that Google+ for the enterprise isn’t going away anytime soon. In other words, Google+ isn’t dying but going through a metamorphosis.

Vivian H. Schrijver

If you enjoyed reading this blog post, like it, share it, or add your comments. Follow us and visit our website.

0 comments: